Paris!! These photos are from my first day in France. I was with my sister for the first couple of days, visited by some gonzaga friends for two days, then on my own for the rest of my trip. It was, with out a doubt, the best week of my life. I highly recommend traveling alone to anyone! I've never learned more about myself so much and had such an amazing time all at once.
Our apartment was right outside of the Marais, on Rue du Faubourg Saint Martin. So on our first day Sarah and I basically just walked the Marais, from our apartment down to the Seine and back. The Marais area is super cute and trendy. Its full of boutiques, great restaurants and le Pompidou! (which is a very fun word to say) We basically tea hopped and walked far more than we expected to! Haha, and that night we cooked food and passed out.
These are our adventures in the Marais:
 |
This is Gohn Galliano's studio. Not a store, HIS STUDIO!!!
We happened upon it in the beginning of our walk.
I think this was a very good way to start my culturally rich trip to Paris. |
 |
| Musee des Artes et Metiers |
 |
| They fix Umbrellas there! It's too cute! I just want to live there |
 |
This store was full of old movie posters and
puppets and things! |
 |
| That street artist has works in Venice CA as well! |
LES POMPIDOU!
 |
| Art, Cinema, Community Gathering place extraordinaire! |
 |
So, appairently the premise of this building is that
they put all the insides on the outsides.
That way the walls inside are movable, to accommodate any gallery space. |
 |
The most fun thing to say is
"You pooped in les Pompidou?"
Just do it, you'll giggle. |
 |
Cafe Beaubourg! Right across from the Pompidou,
it has the best people watching views, and bathrooms that look like caves! |
 |
PONCHOS! there were lots of ponchos to be
seen over the next week. |
 |
| The creepy clown. |
 |
The creepy clown making balloon
animal Maggie? |
 |
That was fun=] I love huge interactive
art installations / advertisements |
 |
| The Stravinsky fountain! Everything moved and spun. |
 |
| I love this one... |
 |
 |
| More rad street art. These both were like huge stickers. |
|
 |
| Trendy trendy....i want those lamps!! |
 |
| "Um Sarah, I think you're standing on a fetus." |
 |
| Hotel de Ville! |
 |
| Theres a Carrousel there!! |
 |
I'm pretty sure this was a police station.
But I just really liked it anyway |
 |
We had lunch on the Seine at Galerie 88 (right next to the HdV)
It was african themed with a Jazz vibe and delicious!
If you want some yummy salad soup and wine, go there!!
...I was obviously entertained by my fork...it looks like a GIANT! |
 |
| On the river....Paris in the fall! |
 |
| There are book sellers all along the river as well! |
 |
| This store was full of crazy things! like clocks and hands... |
 |
| We decided our brother Steve would live in there. |
 |
| Gotta love creeping street art. |
 |
| MARIAGE FRAIRES!!! this is a magical wonderland of tea! |
 |
All of the huge tins are ined up on the walls, and cute boys in
suits bring them to you to smell! I bought 2 that day and went back later
to buy another and have fancy tea in their cafe!
It was delicious and totally worth it! |
 |
Sarah and I happened upon crazy bike Polo.
Which was full of hipster young people.
There was also fooseball and a bunch of
other social stuff. It was quite the scene. |
 |
there were these fellas painting
bikes as the game went on. |
 |
| They were all super intense! |
 |
| I just want that bike. |
 |
| flowers =] |
 |
VINTAGE CHANEL!
I was in lust with that purse.... |
 |
| The cutest pizza place EVER! I wish I could eat there !!! |
On our way back we hit up Muji, which is also a wonderland of freaking cool office supplies and pens and everything you could ever want (like speakers in a cardboard box!) It's a little like sanrio for grownups...and I'm obsessed with it!! If only it wasn't so expensive...
And thats the end of day one in Paris!... I have lots more fun adventures to share.
Ps. sorry about the formatting... Blogger is being silly
No comments:
Post a Comment