Sunday, November 21, 2010

Paris in the middle.

On my last day with my sister, we went to the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre. Which is, hands down the best view of Paris. Its was also very windy and rainy (as in the wind/rain raping the earth), so needless to day there was lots of poncho spotting! We went into the church, which I think I liked better than the Notre Dame in all honesty. But it was built in a totally different era, so its a bit like comparing apples and oranges really. However you can't take pictures inside...so I don't have any. We then went and sat in a cafe, I made frienemies with a black cat who stole the best table, and we made fun of people walking by wearing ponchos. But by the end, both of us kind of wanted a poncho too, party because it was ironic and therefore totally kitch and funny, and partly because we wanted to be dry too. We went to the Salvidore Dahli museum, which was really fun! they had a bunch of his sculptures and drawings there. I never really realized that he just designed so much of his work, and other artisans executed it (namely sculpture and furniture that he made). We then made our way down the giant hill of steps and oogled at the cute carrousel at the bottom of the hill. (You know, the one in Amalie)
After that Sarah left for the airport, and Bridget and Kate took her place in the apartment. That night I wandered the modern art in the Pompidou; which has a really great collection (with crazy feminist art), as well as an awesome Armonde exhibit full of trash and things rolled around in paint. I found it kind of funny that so many of the artists were from NYC, it was like I was in Paris to see American art. Also, I have to say that the view of Paris from the top of the Pompidou is spectacular!! The escalator ride up to the top floor alone is worth doing. As you ascend you begin to see more and more of the city, when finally you are overfome by the twinkiling lights of the Eiffel Tower, to the Notre Dame. And if you walk to the back of the building you can see the Sacre Coeur! And I am pretty sure I saw Jedward having a mini photoshoot infront of the Pompidou...but I could have been mistaken.
I met up with Bridget and Kate to go to a cafe in Les Halles for some tasty Parisian Treats.
On my next day, I basically just roamed from my apartment to the Canal in Belville down to Palace da la Republic, from temple to Bastille, through the Palace des Vosges, over to the Marais and then I had tea at Mariage Freres! Which was delicious. Anyway that was lots of walking, but I saw a really interesting, less touristy part of the city.
That night I met up with Bridget and Kate at Trocadero to have macaroons at that cute cafe there and watch the sunset over the Eiffel Tower. Which was beautiful. We walked along the river and did some night monument spotting, which is the best in paris, since everything is lit up.
When we got back to the apartment, we watched this really odd eastern european movie called Life is a Miracle. Which sounds inspiring, however it was just about bears who eat people, drunk boys fighting and this crazy opera singing woman and her husband, Luca, who has an affair with the lady doctor.
sacre coeur in montmartre
pompidou
the canal
bastille
palace des vosges
trocadero

1 comment: